For as long as I can remember, my family has gone to the League of NH Craftsmen's Fair, held for 10 days in early August.  Our first three kids worked there as a first job and used 1/2 their earnings to pay for driver's education.  Every year we take the chair lift to the top and hike to Lake Solitude, which is a lake on top of the mountain.
Picture
Back down at the base they have exhibits, demonstrations, tents for kids to practice arts and crafts:
Picture
Each year I get a piece from a particular potter.  This year I'll be getting a replacement sugar bowl since our lid is broken in two spots.  We will also be going to the Living With Crafts exhibit because that's where my second brother's work is shown.  Here is a sample of his stuff:
Picture
8/10/2011 07:40:25 pm

Love the table! What a beautiful location for the fair!

Reply
8/10/2011 10:13:47 pm

that looks like a very cool event - and beautiful venue!! Kind of our "Harvest Home Fair" meets "The Minges Pumpkin Harvest Fest" - the first is something like a microcosm of a county fair and the second a crafter's fair - but both in our city meets rural areas!

BTW - your brother has talent!!

hugs - aus and co.

Reply
Ruby
8/10/2011 10:18:48 pm

I don't mean to sound all toney, but this fair is only for juried craftspeople that have been accepted into the guild. So although it is called a fair, it's nothing like the fairs where you see little old ladies with their quilts and crochet work or painted wooden signs for tourists. Not that we don't love some of this stuff, but this is a place where the prices range from $20-30 for something tiny to several thousand dollars. That's why I just buy pottery!

Reply
Ruby
8/11/2011 08:24:32 am

Hey Aus,
I checked out your two fairs. They definitely look more like a "fair" and just the kind of things my husband would like. He's a pretty commercial guy. We go to fairs and I look at the vegetables and animals (an old 4-Her, you see) while he looks at things to buy. I ride the rides and he eats the food. So we spread ourselves around. But we both enjoy the craft stuff.

Reply
8/13/2011 02:23:23 am

thanks for following along on our recent trip to china. Comments and emails while in china are so encouraging and much appreciated. I wish you all the best on your upcoming trip!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.