Mom took her last breath just before six tonight with most of us "kids" holding her hand or stroking her hair.  We will have calling hours on Monday and the funeral on Tuesday.  We have a family cemetery that we created when my father died, so she will be buried beside him and not far from my second sister who died at 55.  I am okay.  I wondered how I would be, and I'm sure that I will have emotional moments-or I think so-but my Mom never cried so I might be more like her than I thought.  I don't see death as an end, but just as a transition, and she is far better off than she was in that sick and aging body.
April Z.
4/15/2011 02:09:14 pm

I'm so sorry to hear about your mom. What a blessing that you were able to be with her when she took her last breath. I'm sure all the good memories you have of her will be a comfort.

Reply
4/16/2011 06:29:26 am

Ruby, We send our deepest sympathy and know that you and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.

It was hard for me to lose my Grandma but knowing that she was in a better place was so much comfort!

Reply
4/16/2011 07:38:07 am

I am so sorry for you loss.
I respect and admire your view of death as a transition. I still have a difficult time with that idea. May God comfort you all during this time.

Reply
4/16/2011 10:34:04 pm

Aww Ruby - we're so sorry for you loss. And while we agree with you that death is a transition - not and ending - it's still hard and you miss them. My Dad died on a Sunday morning - and while he had been sick for years - at least he wasn't bed ridden and didn't linger. He came downstairs having just gotten up for the day, sat down in 'his chair' - Mom brought him a morning cup of coffee, and he passed over with his wife and kids right there with him. I'll consider my self lucky to go on like that....

We'll hold you guys in our prayers - find peace.

hugs - aus and co.

Reply
Ruby
4/16/2011 10:58:11 pm

Thank you, everyone, for your kind thoughts. I am not actually grieving-I think I did that for the last several months. Mom had GI tract cancer and although she ate and drank right up through last Sunday, that means she starved to death. One of my brothers asked her last weekend if he could get anything for her and she said, Heaven. So she has been granted her wish and I am happy that for the first time in a long time, she has no pain or worry.

Reply
4/17/2011 04:24:21 pm

Thinking of you and your family Ruby.

Reply
Myra
4/18/2011 10:20:52 am

Hugs and prayers for you and your family....I agree that death is a transition to a better place to be with our loving God...may he comfort you during your grief....

Love

Myra

Reply
4/23/2011 12:09:21 pm

So sorry to read of the news. Your family is so strong; so loving. Have a blessed Easter.

Alyzabeth's Mommy

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.