My next sister up would have been 63 on Thanksgiving Day but we lost her to a stroke in 2004.  She loved Thanksgiving. She was also an artist-talented in many mediums.  This is our first Thanksgiving without Mom, and she was an expert seamstress.  So this post is about arts and crafts and the holiday all rolled into one.

Still, it was a day of celebration.  We met at our daughter's house and our grandsons had made these adorable placemats.  MB broke his left arm so the turkey print is his right hand and then his brother, RB, wrote our names on each card.
After the meal we came home and after a nap for me (I'm sick with a cold) the kids and I made new Christmas stockings for them.  I bought blanket material years ago and cut out several, making each one unique, but once sewn they were too small.  These two will have plenty of room!

Here are the before photos:
Here are the finished products:
So the kids helped with cutting the pieces out, pinning them, and ripping out the basting.  Each chose the ribbon they wanted, both wanted jingle bells, and Aidan really wanted his name painted on, but I have no paint for cloth so I surprised him with the A, which made him just as happy.
11/25/2011 02:32:25 pm

What a wonderful Thanksgiving. I know it is sad not to have those that you have lost. I'm sure they were missed!

Your stockings are precious! It looks like the littles had fun making them.

Reply
11/27/2011 07:52:13 pm

Great stuff Ruby - you can fit the whole kid in those stockings!! Still - it's cool and something they'll remember!!

Feel better - hugs -

aus and co.

Reply
12/10/2011 05:10:06 am

Alright, I finally figured out how to find your blog!!! The link to your profile didn't work whenever I tried before, so I right clicked on the tiny picture of yourself and managed to get here.

A thousand congratulations on the arrival of your daughter! She is beautiful. I'm very sorry that her feet are in such bad shape. I hope you have a good stroller for her and that she'll use it. I would encourage you to try the correction method with the external fixater, one foot at a time. One year will go soooo fast, you won't believe it. She will learn to get around very well, as children often do. I know it sounds so hard, but I've read many blogs with kids using these devices and I've seen such great results. Even though there are no guarantees, at least you will have the peace of mind knowing you did everything reasonably possible before having to resort to more radical surgery. Then again, I've seen some kids get up and walk immediately on prosthetic feet after amputation... I hope that you will have skilled medical professionals and a lot of family support as you make these hard decisions for your daughter's future.

I'll read more on your blog to fully catch up (my other computer had a link to your blog, but it's been down since before I went China).

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.