We have had some pretty warm (hot) days lately, and I've tried to make the most of them.  I asked the boys last week if they wanted to go to the beach after their field trip, but they wanted instead to go to the gravel pit and play while I picked raspberries.
Picture
Picture
Picture
I told the boys that every other Friday (I get paid every other week) we could do something special so on Friday we went here:
Picture
....but it was just okay to them.  What did they REALLY get excited about?  That I was going to take them to McDonald's-not because of the food-but because I was going to take them to the PlayPlace and actually let them use it!

On the next day, my husband and I took Aidan to three special places.  The first was one of our state fish hatcheries where you can buy 25 cents worth of fish food from bubble gum type dispensers and throw it into the ponds.  We had a lot of fun with that.  If you've never been to New Hampshire, please check out this link to the NH Fish and Game:  http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/

We have a beautiful state and I just read a novel this weekend by an author that I really like but she had a sentence or two in the novel about her characters passing through NH into Maine and I was so disappointed in her description that I wrote to her.  I said that anyone who had ever spent time in Portsmouth, Hampton or Rye would NOT remember them for lottery tickets and liquor stores.  She wrote back and said she had never been here; she was relying on a friend's description of what he remembered of billboards from the Interstate as he passed through on his way to Maine (the "Massachusetts corridor").  So I have to advertise its beauty.

We left the fish hatchery and went to see the rocket in Warren.  16,000 pounds brought here by a NH resident in the military who thought that the rocket would interest kids in our part of the country in the space program and make it "real" to them.  Aidan thought it was pretty cool. (This is a winter picture, but you get the idea)
Picture
Pretty Baby and I took all three boys shopping on Saturday for back to school layaways.  That was actually quite stressful.  But Sunday was wonderful, because we had a picnic after church and it was too hot to eat outside so we actually enjoyed a meal inside the parsonage dining room and it was just....restful.

P.S.  Today is our 30th wedding anniversary
7/18/2011 08:31:00 pm

Sounds like a good couple days - love the family time!! And 30 years - well done!! Marie and I will celebrate 27 this year.

hugs - aus and co.

Reply
7/20/2011 02:25:03 am

happy anniversary!!! Looks like you are enjoying life to the fullest :)

Reply
7/23/2011 12:08:35 am

Love all the fun you are having! We have a fish hatchery in my hometown, always fun to go there. (Gray, Maine)

Alyzabeth's Mommy

Reply
7/24/2011 09:56:16 am

Sorry it's late but Happy Anniversary!

Reply
7/24/2011 11:45:46 am

Hi Ruby...
I couldn't find your e-mail, so I'm posting on your blog, I hope you don't mind. I wanted to thank you for your comments on my blog and for the thoughts and prayers.......they mean a lot to me.

Congratulations on your anniversary and your family is beautiful... I know you're anxiously awaiting your little girl....she's a cutie!
Dolores

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.