We had the big kids and their kids over for supper tonight and it is just so much fun to watch them together.  So much fun that I didn't even think of getting the camera out as Aidan and the first two grandsons played swords, using kickboards as shields, or as the youngest grandson lined up the trains inside the barn and then locked them in, or as the baby clutched a Shetland pony and wouldn't let it go.  Then the younger boys were playing on the lawn while Aidan, RB and I went on "the trail".  It's really just an arc into the woods behind the lawn, but we love it-Aidan blazes the way through the branches and brush, usually walking with a stick that he uses to slash obstacles out of the way or to mount the heights of our boulders.  I have to teach him to be imaginative at times, and he really picked up on the adventurer/explorer theme and has a great time with it.  On our walks we encounter pine needles galore, horse mushrooms, and yards and yards of teaberries.  If you're not from this part of the country or you've just never seen the last two, here are a couple of pictures:
Picture
Picture
Picture
These aren't my pictures (yes, I scoffed them from someone else) but the next three are.  Once a year I make sure that we get to the ocean, which is a couple of hours away, because I had lived all my life in New Hampshire and not seen it until I was 19 years old.  That's what happens when you have 10 siblings, live on a farm, and have a swimming hole across the road as well as the 4th cleanest lake in the world just a few miles away.  But I love it and so did these guys:
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
8/5/2011 11:43:34 am

That's a GOOD reason to go to the beach. I love the ocean, being there relaxes every fiber of my being. The boys look like they had a ball.

One of eleven, huh? Me thinks I need to pick your brain. :)

Reply
8/6/2011 01:05:28 am

There's nothing like family time together!

Reply
8/7/2011 08:43:30 pm

Hey guys - looks like a big bunch of great stuff to us!! There really is nothing like the ocean!!

hugs - aus and co.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.